Tamil (Sri Lanka)Sinhala (Sri Lanka)
North Western Province
Welcome to the North Western Provincial Council
Provincial Cabinet

Hon. Darmasiri Dasanayake

Hon.Chief Minister

Chief Minister & Provincial Minister of Finance & Planning, Engineering Services, Law and Order, Electricity, Local Government & Provincial Administration, Co-Ordination of Investments Environment, Tourism

Hon.Lakshman Harischandra

Hon.Minister of Health

Provincial Minister of Health, Indigenous Medicine, Social Welfare, Probation & Child Care, Women's Affairs

Hon. R.P.D.Gunadasa Dehigama

Provincial Minister of Road, Transport, Co-Operatives, Trade, Housing & Construction, Rural Industries Development & Rural Development

Hon.K.R.M. Sandya Kumara Rajapaksha

Provincial Minister of Education, Cultural Affairs, Sports and Youth Affairs, and Information Technology

Hon. W.J. Sumal Thisera

Provincial Minister of Agriculture, Lands, Irrigation, Fisheries, Animal Production & Development and Agrarian Development



Provincial PortalGovernor OfficeChief Ministry NWPProvincial CabinetCouncil SecretariatChiefSecretary

North Western Province (Sinhala: වයඹ පළාත Wayamba Palata, Tamil: வட மேல் மாகாணம் Vada Mael Maakaanam) is a province of Sri Lanka. The districts of Kurunegala and Puttalam formulate Wayamba. Its capital is Kurunegala, which has a population of 28,571. The province is known mainly for its numerous coconut plantations. Other main towns in this province are Chilaw (24,712) and Puttalam (45,661), which are both small fishing towns. The majority of the population of Wayamba province is of Sinhalese ethnicity. There is also a substantial Sri Lankan Moor minority around Puttalam and Sri Lankan Tamils in Udappu and Munneswaram. Fishing, prawn farming and rubber tree plantations are other prominent industries of the region. The province has an area of 7,888 km², and a population of 2,370,075

Provincial ICT Unit


The Government Information center

Last Update: 14-09-2015